Blink and you’ll miss it.

I’m hoping I won’t offend anyone, I kinda waffled on a bit in this blog. I wrote today’s post before this little bit.

Our babies grow up so fast. I can not believe my eldest is 3 next month. I’ve started to sort out nursery for him today. I’ve been putting it off just because I needed to know where is was with his speech and his development. He has to have a few more sessions and will need extra help when he starts but just have to wait for all the paper work to get that sorted. I noticed today just how far behind his understanding is today. I asked him to get something for me, he knew what the item was but when I told him it was over there he just started looking round at the floor trying to find this item which was in plain site. I then asked my 1 year old (2 next month) the same thing and he looked round and went straight to it. My 1 year old often asks me if I am ok and when he leaves the room he’ll say “bye, love you.” He seems to understand a lot more then his older brother. It makes me think, Is it something we’ve done to make his understanding skill so far behind. I know he can hear what we say as he dose answer but sometimes he just looks so confused or he gets himself in a state because he is confused. I do think it might have something to do with me having to be induced at 36 weeks with him and the fact that my body failed on him. When my body should have be giving me all the things he needed it started to fail, it started reducing the amount it was giving him as a result starting to starve him.
Wow I went off topic.
Anyway. Phoning nurseries up made me think just how quickly they grow up and actually how much I had missed because of working. Don’t get me wrong I love being a working mum. It makes me feel like I am doing my bit for my little family. Although we are now a family of 5 so not sure that’s classed as little anymore. I missed my second little boy stand up for the first time, I missed him take his first steps. All those things that you get excited to see. Thinking about it what about all the parents  that work full time, (I worked part time) How much do they miss? All those parents on tour fighting for our country, how much do they miss? I think if we really thought about it every moment we spend with our kids we should treasure. There are a lot of people out there who don’t have the chance to spend a lot time with their kids, whether its job related or because of break ups, there are lot of people who haven’t had the chance to feel the love of being a parent even though it is one of the things they want most. I may have missed some things from my kids life but its nothing to what some do miss or never get see.

Leave a Reply

